50/50, a review

I have been looking forward to this movie for many  reasons, mainly because of my super big celebrity crush on Joseph Gordon-Levitt, but also because it looked like a really great story.

The movie is based on a true story, and if what I’ve heard is true, Seth Rogan kind of plays himself in the movie, because this story is based on his close friends life – (I heard this on the radio and thus I’m not sure it’s a reliable source!) either way, the movie is based on a true story of friends whose lives change because of a cancer diagnosis.

Even though I had high expectations of this movie, I absolutely loved it. It was the perfect balance of humor, sadness, and friendship. I found myself both laughing hysterically and crying at various points in the movie. The acting was amazing, and at points powerful, and the writing was great – how else could they have kept the audience laughing with a topic like cancer.

I’m going to keep the post spoiler free – just go and see this movie. You won’t regret it!

About susan.

Event coordinator living in Toronto, Canada. Loves: restaurants, movies, events, shopping, baking cupcakes, travel View all posts by susan.

One response to “50/50, a review

  • CMrok93

    Mixing humor and painful subject matter is, naturally, very difficult. The beauty of this movie is that it does so with ease, especially with such good actors in these roles as well. Good review. Check out my site when you can.

Leave a Reply

